The Closest Thing to Crazy

There was this girl in pastry school, who I admit, I kind of hated but I was dating her friend so I tried to be nice. Anyway, I’ve always been a bit spunky and alright maybe a bit crazy, but she called me a “psycho” once.  Again, I may be a bit crazy, but I like to think it’s in a GOOD WAY, but not psycho. And the insinuation that I’m a psycho makes me feel like I should go psycho just to prove a point. But thankfully for the sake of everyone, I didn’t go psycho. Instead, I reflected on how awesome it is to know who I am and how to enjoy that. A little life lesson learned through the insults of others.

Ever since I was a wee one, I’ve been called a lot of things: Whoopi Goldberg, Moo (which they called me because of my rather plumpness aka girth), crazy, Ch-Ch-Ch-Chia (after the plant), funny, iMac (this was a nickname because I used to be very, very smart like a computer), psycho- from that wench face, colorful, and determined. I have some friends whose parents think I’m a bad influence, some friends that think I’m irresponsible, some friends that think I’m funny, some friends that don’t know me that well, and some friends that know me too well. I don’t regret any of it- honestly, it’s made me who I am.

There will be people that don’t understand you, or what you do or have been through. If they cannot take the time to try and see your perspective, then they aren’t worth your time. For me, I’ve grown up and have experienced thingsthat changed my life. I like who I am, even the jiggly, wobbly bits. I’m not perfect and I have never claimed to be. Imperfections differentiate you from everyone else. And I for one, love to be different.

A little crazy is a good, good thing. I sprinkle a little of it into anything I do because it adds some flavor and the results are always surprising. How many people thought I would fall in love with the most amazing man, or live in NYC, pay off my debts like a responsible adult, and have themed dinner parties for my new friends? That’s right, very few people did. A little crazy gets you everywhere and anywhere.

Allie

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Closest Thing to Crazy

  1. nicole says:

    I have always believed that you would fall in love..and accomplish AMAZING things!! xoxo I wanna go to one of your themed dinner parties!!!

  2. Darrah says:

    What goes around comes around. That girl that called you psycho will get hers if she hasn’t already. You are crazy in a good way. No one wants to be normal it’s so boring. You are anything but boring and I for one and very glad of that.
    You are amazing so of course you will accomplish amazing things. How could anyone think otherwise.

Leave a Reply

