Tis the Season

Christmas music is everywhere,  the jolly spirit of the holidays is ubiquitous, and the economy always gets a nice push around this time of year. It’s magical and awesome…. for some people. Now I’m not hating on the holidays, I like some parts of it- but I’m just not ready yet OK?

Thus this is what to expect from my blog this month-

  • week 1- what I despise
  • week 2- what I love
  • week 3- what I wish for
  • week 4- my holiday wishes/new year’s resolutions!

So now that I have prepared you for this week, I promise fairness and I won’t be too terrible.

Allie’s WHY-I-DESPISE-CHRISTMAS-but fairly-LIST:

1. I really cannot stand Same Old Lang Syne by Dan Fogelberg. Yeah, I know this is a weird thing to despise about the holidays but I cannot believe this plays at Christmas time, on all those music stations. I have never really hated anything as much as this song.

2. I despise shopping with tons of indecisive holiday shoppers. I love grocery shopping (little known fact) but all these people walking around having no idea what they want and staring at the same carton of egg nog for an hour right in the middle of the aisle kills me! And old women are the worst. One woman elbowed me for a box of angel hair pasta. ELBOWED me. Sure I won’t elbow you back because you are old and possibly made of gingersnaps and peppermint tea, but you better watch out….

3. New York is already a fast paced place, but add the need to get somewhere quicker because of a holiday party or a shopping spree for gifts, and people get out of control. Slow down, that Xbox Kinect will still be there in 10 minutes and you don’t need to run down the street and then slip and cause a domino effect, which I saw yesterday on the bus on Madison Ave.

4. The Christmas Story plays for 24 hours straight. I have never seen this movie, and I don’t plan to, but I would like a little variety on TV. Also, pretty much all these made for TV Christmas movies with C-D list actors. Just saying.

5. Last but not least, I despise that I have no one special to celebrate the holidays with; no one to decorate with and watch some holiday movies I love with, no one to really buy gifts for except LoML although he’s far away so I can’t even enjoy the pleasure of giving someone something they want and their happiness. I think what I’m trying to say is that I despise how lonely this season can make a person like me feel. 

There you have it, my top 5 reasons for despising the season. Next week, I’ll tell you why I love it! See you next time.

Allie

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tis the Season

  1. erin says:

    YOU HAVE NEVER SEEN A CHRISTMAS STORY!?!?!?
    By far the best Christmas movie of all time. You need to watch it. I watch it every year after dinner on Christmas Eve. And I bake cookies with my “A Christmas Story” cookie cutters, whilst wearing my “A Christmas Story” apron.

    Also, I do hope you do not feel too lonely. At least you have someone to love who loves you back. That is more than a lot of people have around the holidays.

    And I love you, Alechia!

    REDEMPTION!

  2. Diana says:

    I’ve never watched A Christmas Story all the way through either. I tried to watch it a few years ago, but I got bored.

  3. nicole says:

    yea.. i have never seen it either… and dont feel the need to see it either.. and you can totally buy me a gift if you want! hehehe.. and you know you are not alone this holiday season.. you have me there in spirit of course..

  4. Darrah says:

    Is that song the one about “I met my lover in the grocery store”? Because that is the worst song EVER!!
    I as well Hate the “A Christmas Story” the repetition is way too anoying.
    The stores are all crowded and you almost hate going anywhere. You think where did all these people come from.
    Why do you think there are som many songs about being alone at Christmas like “I’ll have a blue Christmas”

    Miss you lady. You know there is an open invitation for you to come up for a visit, including for the holidays.

Leave a Reply

