The Thinning Effect

So as everyone knows I’ve been working my big bottom off, trying to get into shape and live healthier. Thus, I have my update post on my progress and before and kind-of after….

Back in the day:

So this was me in 2006. Yes, about four years ago now. Crazy how time flies. I was tipping the scales on the very heavy side then and I was just plain sad. I mean really, I hated myself and I didn’t want to do anything. It’s not a surprise that all my relationships went poorly and that I found little joy in many many things.

That’s a lesson to learn- love yourself and others may love you too, hate yourself and you’ll find yourself hating others. You don’t want to be in a place like that- you don’t want to get stuck in this circle of hating and self-loathing. Look, I’m not saying being big is evil, but you have to be happy with what size you are. If you aren’t happy, change it.

That’s another thing, not all big people can become small, and not all have to either. I’m never going to be stick thin or model-sized, but I am below the average size now as a size 10 when I used to be a size 24. That’s not bad- I lost half of myself and I’m still working on it. But I’m tired of people who are thin picking on the bigger people out there- IT”S NOT THAT EASY! So get off that high horse of thinness and realize we don’t metabolize like you, we don’t have the same structures or eating habits, or experiences. We are all different!

That said, here is now: (albeit the pictures are a few months old…) 

I’m much happier now. I have better relationships, although I worry about the relationship I have with the scale and food sometimes, but there is no more self-loathing, and maybe sometimes I’m not so happy with how I look but it comes and it goes. I have love and support and a goal that is attainable, so thanks everyone!

So there you have it-

Progress, not completion but I love myself a lot more now! To everyone who supports me, who congratulates me, there is never enough ways to thank you. And to the LoML, thanks too for helping to get me here.

Until next time!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Thinning Effect

  1. LiLu says:

    Congratulations, lady friend- you really do look amazing!!!!!!!! 🙂

  2. nicole says:

    YAY!!! im sooo happy for you ladyface!!!!! WOO!!! WOOO!! keep up the good work!!!!! 🙂 🙂

  3. Diana says:

    That is seriously awesome! You look fantastic! It really is true – the more we love ourselves, the more others love being around us. The more we loath ourselves, the more others can’t stand us.

  4. Darrah says:

    I’m glad that you love yourself now. I’m terrifically proud that you took the effort to get yourself there. Happy is as happy does. I hope. 🙂

Leave a Reply

