Let’s Get Back in Business

One of the best parts of growing up is realizing you are stronger, talented and more full of potential than you ever thought you would be. It’s a constant surprise to me that I can do something well without mistakes and even find new ways of improving. When I was a kid, I was mesmerized by the capabilities and greatness of others. Although even now there are people in my life that still astonish me- The German especially, I’m not sure how he manages to be good at nearly everything, and let me tell you, I’m in awe, proud, and excited that he is in my life. But all of my friends have these amazing talents that I’m so lucky to appreciate. When it comes to myself, I’m still and always will be disappointed by little things and the mistakes I make because I’m a perfectionist when it comes to taking an idea and making it a reality. But I am strong and talented, with a lot of potential to seize upon those strengths and talents.

That said, if you could start small and at your own pace, would you start a business that gave you a name and let you live an idea? Well, that is the question I’m asking myself this week. What if everything I want to do and plan to do could have an alternate route? For instance, what if I started my cookie and brownie business out of my home and then maybe in my own little shop here in NYC? Anything is possible…….. What if this is the way to writing and successfully selling a cookbook, food writing, owning a loft in the city? When did I begin to think that I could do something this big and yet small at the same time?

I guess it’s an idea that’s been swimming around my head for many years. When I started making cookies for our library bake sales, back when I was maybe 15, I knew then that this was a possibility for me. Ten years and a lot of emotional obstacles later, and I’m ready to plunge into this idea. It seems risky, and my hands will perpetually be dirty more often than not, but it’s now or never. Look what I’ve managed thus far: I’ve come to terms with my mother’s passing (something I thought would haunt me forever but it is still debilitating emotionally), I’ve got my master’s degree, I still have friends (which is a happy surprise), I manage to pay my rent, I’m in a committed relationship with someone I think is my match and I never expected that, and I live in NYC. When I have so many good things to think and smile about, how could I hold myself back from trying to achieve more?

So that’s my new plan everyone, that’s my news. I’m turning over a new leaf, shaking the dew off, and writing the recipes for cookies. Wish me luck and see you next week!

Allie

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Let’s Get Back in Business

  1. Lisa says:

    The thing is that people look at you in awe of your amazing talents and then look at themselves with bits of disappointment. Funny how that works.

    I’m glad to have you as a friend and if we ever stopped being friends I would not be happy about it…

    On a side note, if you ever need a taste tester for your cookies I’m TOTALLY available 😀

    Miss you!

  2. Darrah says:

    Dream big!

    You really must come to realize that while you are walking around being proud of others that other people are walking around being proud of you.

  3. Laura says:

    Yes, I agree with Darrah, I’m so proud of you and happy to call you my friend. You can do anything you want and I know you will be GREAT! Good luck!

  4. nicole says:

    I love this!!! and Im soo happy and proud to be able to call you my dear sweet friend! I know all of your dreams will come true and I cant wait to see it all happen!

  5. erin says:

    if you start a cookie/brownie business, let me know. i will be one of your first customers and order some of your deliciousness and have it sent to me.

Leave a Reply

