Things that make you go hmmmmmmm…….

It was Mother’s Day, so I decided to clean the house for my mom and make her breakfast. So there I went, cleaning the house top to bottom early in the morning before anyone else woke up. I made pancakes and eggs, and had fresh fruit waiting. Now that my gift was complete, it was time to wake her up. At first I nudged her, nothing happened. I begin tapping her gently, yelling her name a little. Nothing. So I decided to pour water on her head. But then I thought, that’s such a waste of water, why not pour milk? Clearly this is a better option because I can’t drink milk so it’s useless to me. So I went over to her with a gallon of milk and poured it on top of her. This woke her up. And she was really REALLY mad. Apparently being woken up at 5 in the morning by cold milk being poured on you is not “a gift.” And this is the story of my life; a series of ideas and thoughts that make you go hmm…………

I think it’s normal for people like me, who are determined to see every goal come true when they desire it, to become despondent when these goals don’t come true. I found my dream job in New York, but still no call back from them. It’s a waiting game that slowly eats away at the acquired confidence in your abilities- it makes you feel as if you want to shout at them- LOOK AT ME, I’m perfect for this job. But the thing is, there are so many people in this world who are good at things. For most interviews I went to, there was someone there interviewing for the same job and they were just as qualified as I am. It’s sucktastic but eh, it’s life.

And this is where it gets interesting. You look for jobs that meet your skills, your career aspirations, but as your confidence slowly dissipates since NO ONE CALLS YOU BACK, you begin to consider doing weird jobs. For instance, there was an opening for a ballroom teacher with training provided at $17 an hour. I’m still considering this job. Sure, I know nothing about ballroom dancing, and yeah I don’t like large quantities of people in the same room (especially if they are dancing), but this is good money. For that kind of pay, I could love it.  You have to compromise- this is better than; working as a janitor, or working for some fast food place like McDonald’s. I would join a nunnery before that happens. Please don’t make me join a nunnery Morgan Freeman!

But I can see my will bending- things that I would say no to automatically, I’m now saying hmmmmmm to. I refused to eat Ramen noodles, but now I’m eyeing them with renewed interest. They are cheap and terribly delicious but the sodium it contains could kill a cheetah. Yet bending in general can be a good thing. Two years ago, I didn’t think it was possible that I would meet someone that made my life much happier, and if I did meet this amazing person, I never thought I would go along with it. But I bent, because maybe this could be something. There is something to be said about letting things happen without wanting to control it all. It’s hard when it comes to job searching in Manhattan, but when it comes to things like love, how could it be bad? And also, I’ve lost 10 pounds since moving here, and I still ate a burger meal at Good Burger. Never thought I would cave on that, but a little going with the flow can be good. Although again, I don’t want to go to a nunnery.

Allie

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Things that make you go hmmmmmmm…….

  1. nicole says:

    if you join a nunnery..ill go with you LOL 😉 nice blog

  2. Diana says:

    Your stories are always so hilarious and wonderfully told!

    Good luck with all the job hunting – believe me, I know how much of a pain it is. I’m sure that Morgan Freeman has the right job all lined up and waiting for you at just the right time 🙂

  3. Darrah says:

    MF does not want you to join a nunery. Why would he give you your LOML if he did ehhh? I almost can’t believe you poured milk all over you mother at 5am but then again it is you so….

    You will find something if just takes time. And yeah you do have to take a job sometimes that you otherwise wouldn’t until that ideal job comes along.

    Chin Up

  4. **Jen** says:

    Ah, the many joys of being an adult. There are a ton of things you THINK you will definitely do. Sometimes they happen, sometimes not so much. You just realize what you want (let’s say a gourmet meal every night) and what you need (sustenance, whether it comes from ramen or not).

    And making a big move like that takes some serious big girl pants, so bravo! And good things come in time.

  5. Jenn says:

    The reasons I ❤ u…. Has enough sodium to kill a cheetah! Lmao Hang in there Chica! Morgans got your back (he told me so ;). )

Leave a Reply

