The Fine Art of Goodbye Playlist

Now don’t be alarmed- I’m not leaving, I’m just reflecting on the hardest and sometimes easiest thing you can decide to do in life and that is saying goodbye.

We have to make tough decisions in order to see the reality of a situation instead of what we want to see. For instance, I love to romanticize little things and believe that everything is going to work out, because love always wins in the end, right? Unfortunately not- there is more to love than hoping for the best;  it’s a reciprocated feeling that does not die easily, but I also think it should come easily too. If you have to work at love from the very beginning, I’m not entirely sure you should continue. This is setting yourself up for disappointment and heartbreak. And thus, we explore the fine art of goodbye.

Sometimes you have to go- ok, it’s time to say goodbye; this isn’t working, and I am pulling out my hair trying. It’s emotional but I have found some ways to  pull myself through it. I use my imagination a lot to picture the future, I walk and listen to music. During my first big breakup I listened to nothing but Kelly Clarkson and Coldplay. (I also sat under my really tall bed and throughout the day friends would join me under there individually to tell me meaningful stories. We laughed, we cried, we sang along, and they helped me make it through it. Doesn’t that sound like a dramatic story that should be a book or television show?)

Music has been and always will be my savior which is my last part of this highly introspective post about saying goodbye, and the things that help you.

Fine Art of Saying Goodbye Playlist

1. Both Sides Now– Joni Mitchell, this is the top of my favorites.

2. Oh What a Day– Ingrid Michaelson,  so simple but beautiful.

3. Beautiful Day– U2, this always works for me.

4. That’s It, I Quit, I’m Moving On– ADELE cover, love it.

5. Something to Believe In– Aqualung, actually he’s amazing, anything of his will do.

6. Let Go– Frou Frou, a classic really.

7. Where Do We Go– Sandrine, it’s peppy but nice

8. Try Sleeping with a Broken Heart– Alicia Keys, very emotional but great lyrics. Or, Lesson Learned, very relaxing.

9. How the Day Sounds– Greg Laswell, I like the lyrics.

10. Happier– A Fine Frenzy, love her music, and also Swan Song which is depressing. Or Minnow & the Trout which is meaningful.

11. Smile– Telepopmusik, sounds so nice.

12. Can’t Go Back Now– The Weepies, such a wonderful track.

13.Why Does it Always Rain on Me?– Travis and Feel– Robbie Williams, both good sounds that fit the mood. And also Wish You Were Here– Pink Floyd, these are all recommendations from a very good friend.

14. Gravity– Sara Bareilles, emotional roller-coaster but relevant.

15. Fix You– Coldplay, I love them and this is one of my favorites when I am feeling sad- remember these lines- “when you love someone and it goes to waste, could it be worse?” and “lights will guide you home and ignite you bones, and I will try to fix you…..”

When all else fails, the Beatles- Here Comes the Sun, and of course the Indiana Jones theme song, which helps me through anything and everything.

Any others?

Allie

P.S. Officially 52 pounds lost from July last year…. Happy St. Patrick’s Day, and cannot wait till Easter, hello Swedish Fish!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Fine Art of Goodbye Playlist

  1. **Jen** says:

    There really is music for every mood isn’t there? Keeping with the theme though, here’s a few ‘goodbye’ songs:

    Great Expecations – The Gaslight Anthem.

    Son’s Gonna Shine – Citizen Cope

    Can’t You See – Marshall Tucker Band (This one has gotten me through many tough goodbyes.)

    Here Comes the Sun – Ben Harper (for a good cry…)

    Ok, that’s it for now. I’m sure I have many, many more.

    Love ya!!!

  2. Nicole says:

    Love lesson learned and gravity..those have been on my repeat for a while! 🙂

    Sober is also a good song.. by kelly clarkson 🙂

  3. Lisa says:

    So there are sentimental goodbye songs for saying goodbye to a loved one and then there are the angry goodbye songs 🙂 I’m usually partial to the angry ones….

    But, your list prompted me to google goodbye songs and I found one called “See You Later F***face” by the Queers… that title made me smile 🙂

  4. LiLu says:

    Ooooo, I love that Sara Bareilles song. She is truly the bee’s knees.

  5. Diana says:

    After I went through a really bad break-up, music was my solace. Mostly at the time I was listening to John Mayer, Copeland, etc. The song “Without you” from Rent was on constant repeat on my iPod as well. Also “With or Without You” and “Sometimes you can’t make it on your own” by U2.

  6. Darrah says:

    I hope that you have actually made this playlist and will share it with me. It sounds awesome. Hang in there chicky. Saying goodbye is usually not an easy thing but necessary from time to time. It doesn’t have to mean forever it can mean only goodbye for now perhaps we will meet again. Well Love you deary and I hope to see you soon.

  7. onedayafter says:

    stop – sam brown

  8. Jenn says:

    awesome song list….

    The Weepies “Can’t Go Back Now” -amazing!

    also Kelly Clarkson “Already Gone” and David Gray “This Year’s Love” and “SayHello, Wave Goodbye”

Leave a Reply

