I’d Do it All Again

If you could change one thing- an event in your past, a personality trait, your location, your career, or your body, would you? It would be hard to pick just one, which reminds us that change is a tricky thing. But between change and regret, regret takes the cake for being unbelievably and annoyingly tricky. Of course the problem with tricky things is that the more you try to simplify them, the trickier they get.

We have these moments where we wish and we dream and we regret. Yet that’s all they are- moments, and sometimes these moments haunt us, but sometimes these moments remind us why growth is a necessity. See? Tricky. You have to chose whether to look at these little life moments as either a lesson to learn from, or a mistake you wish you could take back. It’s so easy to do the latter because the former is much more complicated and requires a control on emotions that only come with time and experience. I’m getting there.

As of late I’ve learned a lot about life, people, but most importantly myself and what stirs my emotions. You know the saying, and I’m paraphrasing here- I never knew how much it could hurt to lose something I never really had? That is a feeling statement I think brings fear to just about anyone who has wanted something, could see and feel it, and inevitably felt the sorrow of it’s absence when it was removed from their sight and ultimately their lives. But there’s the rub- why did you sit there looking at it and not try to obtain it? Should you have risked your heart or was it better to play it safe? We may never know now that it’s lost. Oh regrets.

I’m a believer in either regretting the really big things, or regretting nothing at all. It’s a newfound attitude- I have been a silent observer and sufferer (which I know many of you can relate to) for far too long and I hope some of you feel the same way. It’s time to live, feel, risk, talk when I want to be silent, and laugh when I want to cry. As for regrets- I’d do it all again. Why spend time regretting when I could be spending time having adventures? (And in a month, eating Swedish Fish again!)

Follow your heart or forever be crippled by the reservations of your mind.

Allie

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’d Do it All Again

  1. Lisa says:

    You’re so awesome! Have you ever thought of being a columnist? Cause you so could! Can’t wait for next week.

  2. Darrah says:

    ok that last line is EPIC I love it. I am writing it down later. I know it’s hard but I am a firm believer in Fate and Karma. Regrets usually only lead to unhapiness. I believe if it is meant to be it will be. Those roads not taken are a wonderment to the imagination though. One could spend their entire life on “What if’s”. One must forget about yesterday, stop looking in the rearview mirror and focus on Today and what’s ahead.

  3. kayceanne says:

    Over the years I have realized that I don’t really have regrets. I would not change where I am at in life for anything! All those little mistakes or detours I took in life made me who I am today. And I like who I am. Besides regretting the past does nothing but take away my focus on what is going on today. I would rather live my life in the present than in the past.

  4. Diana says:

    At times I think that I regret things from my past, but when I really look at it, I learned something vital from each of those things I regret and they have shaped me and made me who I am today. So even though it may be painful to remember them, even though I may wonder what would have happened if I had done something differently, ultimately, they all served a purpose. So I wouldn’t change anything (more or less)

Leave a Reply

